During the month of April, the Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club, as part of its annual Student Scholarship Competition, recognized outstanding high school students from Wyandotte County schools. One female and one male student from each school are nominated by their respective school’s staffs to compete for $1,500 college scholarships.  All the students exemplify the highest academic, service and character standards in our community.  We can all be proud of these Wyandotte County students, and we are excited about their bright futures.
Due to the pandemic, the KCK Rotary Club continues to meet via Zoom.  The female students, accompanied by school representatives, made short presentations at the Club’s Zoom meeting on April 13th, and the male students presented to the Club on April 20th.
The Club will choose one female and one male from these outstanding high school students to receive a $1,500.00 scholarship to be used at the college or university of the student’s choice.  The scholarship announcements will be made in early May.
Female Speakers – April 13, 2021:
Clockwise from upper left:  Jennifer Obiesie, Piper High School; Lizbeth Martinez, Bishop Ward High School; Jazmin Graham, Bonner Springs High School; Jaleon Brown, Sumner Academy; Katerin Molina Peraza, Wyandotte High School; Kenia Ramirez, F.L. Schlagle High School; Leslie Chavez Hinojos, J.C. Harmon High School; and Elizabeth Thang, Turner High School.
Male Speakers – April 20, 2021:
Clockwise from upper left:  Christian Renteria, Sumner Academy; Aaron Johnson, F.L. Schlagle High School; Blake Beashore, Piper High School; Roberto Ramirez, Turner High School; Reynaldo Lopez, Bishop Ward High School; Ian Tomasic, Bonner Springs High School; Miguel Flores, J.C. Harmon High School; Saul Franco Morales, Wyandotte High School
To celebrate Women’s History Month, the Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club welcomed several accomplished women as speakers at its weekly meetings.
On March 2, 2021, the Club was joined by Dia Wall, Edward R. Murrow and Mid-America Emmy award winning anchor at KSHB Channel 41 Action News in Kansas City.  Ms. Wall began her remarks by sharing that she is passionate about equity.  She cautioned that we must be careful about how we report or chronicle history and explained how she exercises that care in her role as a news anchor.  Ms. Wall emphasized that you should listen to everyone and should not require that someone look or act a certain way before valuing that person’s words or actions.
On March 9, 2021, Sharla Smith, Ph.D., MPH, an assistant professor at The University of Kansas School of Medicine in Kansas City and founder of Kansas Birth Equity Network (K-BEN), presented to the Club.  Dr. Smith’s current research focuses on maternal and infant health disparities.  She explained to members that societal factors such as poverty and residential segregation, together with unconscious biases, lead to race-based disparities in both infant mortality and maternal health.  The mission of K-BEN is to eliminate health disparities by increasing awareness of the high rate of African American maternal and infant mortality and connecting individuals with local resources.
On March 16, 2021, our speaker was Teneca Clark, General Manager of Production for Heartland Coca-Cola Bottling Company and Regional Vice President.  Heartland Coca-Cola Bottling Company is the local Coca-Cola bottler for Kansas and Missouri as well as for parts of Nebraska, Illinois, and Oklahoma.  Mentioning that she works in a male-dominated field, Ms. Clark acknowledged the many role models whom she credits with leading her toward a career in science.  Her stated goal is to “change the default” in the workplace.  For young people to pursue careers in STEM related fields, they need to see people who look like them in those roles.
On March 23, 2021, the Club heard from Robin C. Henry, Ph.D., Associate Professor in the Department of History at Wichita State University, who has written numerous articles and a couple of books focusing on her primary area of study, gender and sexuality and legal and constitutional rights.  Dr. Henry’s presentation focused on women’s suffrage and the passage of the 19th Amendment, in honor of the 100th Anniversary of its passage which occurred just last year.
Closing out the month, Club member Ashley Adorante led Club members in a fun evening of Virtual Bingo!
On January 12, 2021, the Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club recognized the Unified Government Department of Public Health.  Juliann Van Liew, Director of the UG Department of Public Health, and Dr. Allen Greiner, Chief Medical Officer for the UG Department of Public Health, both joined the Club at its meeting.
In the morning prior to our meeting, Todd Jordan presented a plaque to Ms. Van Liew (photo below).  The plaque inscription reads:
The Rotary Club of Kansas City, Kansas
recognizes the
Unified Government
Public Health Department
Exemplary, Life-Saving Public Service
during the coronavirus global pandemic
January 12, 2021
Additionally, the Club provided cards for delivery to each Health Department employee thanking each of them for their work and including a coupon for a cupcake from the Kansas City Cupcake Company.   Both Ms. Van Liew and Dr. Greiner expressed their heartfelt gratitude for the recognition of the Health Department during this difficult time.
June 2021
Weekly Bulletin
Keely Schneider
Jun 15, 2021 12:00 PM
Workforce Partnership
Workforce Partnership
Alex Perez
Jun 22, 2021 12:00 PM
Hispanic Development Fund
Rotaract Club of Western Kansas City
Contact the board to learn more.
Upcoming Service Projects
4/17 Rosedale Development Association  Neighborhood Clean Up 9am - 11am
4/22 Earth Day - Heathwood Park Clean Up
4/24 Kaw Point Park -Gardening/Clean-Up 9am - 12pm
5/8 Kaw Point Park - Gardening/Clean-Up 10am - 1pm

Want to learn more? Email us.


Meeting Information

Rotary Club of Kansas City, KS

Kansas City, Kansas

Service Above Self

We meet In Person
Tuesdays at 12:00 PM
Online meetings via ZOOM
contact for info
Kansas City, KS
United States of America
Officers & Directors
Vice President
Immediate Past president