The Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club, at its May 3rd luncheon, announced the winners of its annual Student Scholarship Contest and recognized outstanding teachers from each of the Wyandotte County high schools.
The Club awarded $1,000 college scholarships to each of the winning students: Sydnei Patton of Sumner Academy and Alexander Trobough also of Sumner Academy.  The Club awards two scholarships, one to the top female and one to the top male.  These students competed with other outstanding high school students from the Wyandotte County schools.  All the students exemplify the highest academic, service and character standards in our community.  We can all be proud of what Wyandotte County has helped produce in these students.  The Rotary Club congratulates them, and wishes them the best in their pursuit of higher education.
In addition, annually the Club recognizes outstanding teachers from each of Wyandotte County's nine high schools.  This is an annual program of the Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club to show appreciation to teachers in the county that represent the best of our community.  The teachers were introduced by their school’s administrators and the club was told of their unique contributions to the respective schools. Each was presented a plaque of appreciation by the Club.  We are grateful to these teachers who give so much of themselves to educate and prepare our youth for the future.
Student Scholarship Winners; pictured left to right:  Alexander Trobough (Sumner Academy), Sydnei Patton (Sumner Academy), and Hank Chamberlain (KCK Rotary Club President)
Outstanding High School Teachers; pictured left to right:  Hank Chamberlain (KCK Rotary Club President), Dr. Michael Hotz (Wyandotte High School), Tamra Miller (Sumner Academy), Scott Hughes (Turner High School), Kathryn Holmes (JC Harmon High School), Kelly Lipovitz (Bishop Ward High School), LaDerrick Collins (Washington High School), Victoria Agcaoili (FL Schlagle High School), Kelly Hoopes (Bonner Springs High School), and Teri Beashore (Piper High School).