The Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club, at its April 28th luncheon, announced the winners of its annual Student Scholarship Contest and recognized outstanding teachers from each of the Wyandotte County high schools.
The Club awarded $1,000 college scholarships to each of the winning students: Anna Powell of Bishop Ward High School and Richard Cassidy also of Bishop Ward High School.  The Club awards two scholarships, one to the top female and one to the top male.  These students competed with other outstanding high school students from the Wyandotte County schools.  All the students exemplify the highest academic, service and character standards in our community.  We can all be proud of what Wyandotte County has helped produce in these students.  The Rotary Club congratulates them, and wishes them the best in their pursuit of higher education.
In addition, annually the Club recognizes outstanding teachers from each of Wyandotte County's nine high schools.  This is an annual program of the Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club to show appreciation to teachers in the county that represent the best of our community.  The teachers were introduced by their school’s administrators and the club was told of their unique contributions to the respective schools. Each was presented a plaque of appreciation by the Club.  We are grateful to these teachers who give so much of themselves to educate and prepare our youth for the future.
Student Scholarship Winners; pictured left to right:  Ken Davis (KCK Rotary Club President); Richard Cassidy (Bishop Ward High School); and Anna Powell (Bishop Ward High School)
Outstanding High School Teachers; pictured left to right:  Ken Davis (KCK Rotary Club President); Elizabeth Villanueva (J.C. Harmon High School); Ashley Kowalewski (Piper High School); Robert “Kam” Ridley (Bishop Ward High School); David King (Turner High School); Perla Weaver (Wyandotte High School); Dave Oland (Sumner Academy); and Tierney Thompson (Bonner Springs High School).  Not pictured are Lydia DeGarmo (F.L. Schlagle High School) and Darwyn Thomlinson (Washington High School).