Each year, the Downtown Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club recognizes outstanding high school students from Wyandotte County school. One young woman and one young man from each high school are nominated by a teacher, counselor, or principal of their respective school to compete for  two $1,000 scholarships
awarded by our Club.

All of the students nominated exemplify the highest academic, service, and character standards in our community. All can be proud of what Wyandotte County schools have helped produce in these students.  The community leaders, who are members of the Downtown Rotary Club of Kansas City, KS, are excited about what these young men and women will bring to the future. We are proud to be able to assist one young woman and one young man pursue their dreams in higher education with a $1,000 scholarship to attend a college or university of their choice.

The young women candidates, accompanied by family and school representatives made their presentations to our Club on April 8th. The young men made their presentations on April 15th. The scholarship winners will be announced and awarded at our Club's luncheon meeting on Tuesday, April 29th.


Left to Right: Priscilla McInnes (KCK Rotary Club Member), Carly Zwart (Piper High School), Natalie Walton (Wyandotte High School), TeAra Crockett (FL Schlagle High School), Betty Gillespie (Turner High School), Melanie Arellano (Bishop Ward High School), Kemberly Sanchez (Bonner Springs High School), and George Moody (President, KCK Rotary Club)


 Left to Right: Jordan House (Turner High School), Weston Vitt (Bonner Springs High School), Noah Jaksetic (Bishop Ward High School), Rogelio Gamboa (Wyandotte High School), Kalen Allen (Sumner Academy), Ahmedin Issak (JC Harmon High School), Aaron Wedlow (FL Schlagle High School), Jared Davis (Piper High School), and George Moody (President, KCK Rotary Club)