Posted on Jun 12, 2017
The Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club announced the winners of its annual Student Scholarship Contest and recognized outstanding educators from each of the Wyandotte County high schools at the Club’s May 2nd luncheon meeting.
The Club awarded $1,000 college scholarships to each of three area high school seniors: Alayna Dooley of Bonner Springs High School, Monica Romero of Turner High School, and Royal Sullivan of Sumner Academy.  The Club awards these scholarships to the top female and male students who participate in the Club’s scholarship speech contest .  Due to a tie for the female students, the club opted to award both top place females this year.  These students competed with other outstanding high school students from Wyandotte County schools.  All the students exemplify the highest academic, service and character standards in our community.  We can all be proud of what Wyandotte County has helped produce in these students.  The Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club congratulates them and wishes them the best in their pursuit of higher education.
In addition that day, the Club recognized outstanding teachers from each of Wyandotte County's nine high schools.  This annual program of the Kansas City, Kansas Rotary Club honors teachers in the county who represent the best of our community.  The teachers were introduced by the respective school’s administrator, and the Club learned of each teacher’s unique contributions to the individual schools.  Each educator was presented a plaque of appreciation.  We are grateful to these teachers who give so much of themselves to educate and prepare our youth for the future.
Student Scholarship Winners, pictured left to right:­­­  Fred Zimmerman (KCK Rotary Club Vice President); Monica Romero (Turner High School); Royal Sullivan (Sumner Academy); Alayna Dooley (Bonner Springs High School); and Pat Crilly (KCK Rotary Club).
Outstanding High School Teachers, pictured left to right:
Front Row:  Ann Hamilton (Piper High School); Cindy Leighton (Sumner Academy); Marjorie Marchin (J.C. Harmon High School); Monica Cabrera Johnson (Washington High School); and Joanna Schindel (F.L. Schlagle High School)
Back Row:  Andrew Ward (Turner High School); Fred Zimmerman (KCK Rotary Club Vice President); Kelley James (Wyandotte High School); Robert Franks (Bishop Ward High School); Adam Loecker (Bonner Springs High School); and Pat Crilly (KCK Rotary Club)